The Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM), under the direction of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), has designated St. Joseph County as a regulated Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System or MS4.

Regulated MS4's are required to develop and implement a Stormwater Quality Management Plan (SWQMP). The SWQMP is a comprehensive document that addresses stormwater quality, within the designated area, that includes methods and measurable goals with the following Minimum Control Measures (MCMs):

  1. Public Education and Outreach
  2. Public Participation and Involvement 
  3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  4. Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control
  5. Post-Construction Stormwater Runoff Control
  6. Municipal Operations Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping


Saint Joseph County (227 W Jefferson Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601) and MS4 co-permittees, Town of Roseland and Town of Osceola, intends to discharge stormwater into the Dowling Creek (Hydrologic Unit Code 040400010201), Hudson Lake-Geyer Ditch (HUC 071200010201), McCoy Creek (HUC 040500012601), Chain-Lakes Ditch-Geyer Ditch (HUC 071200010202), Pinhook Lake-St Joseph River (HUC 040500012207), Dutch Corners-St Joseph River (HUC 040500012208), Judy Creek (HUC 040500012206), Cebas Creek (HUC 040500012201), Eller Ditch-St Joseph River (HUC 040500012203), Rogers Ditch-Baugo Creek (HUC 040500012104), Willow Creek-St Joseph River (HUC 040500012204), Auten Ditch-St Joseph River (HUC 040500012205), Dixon West Place Ditch (HUC 071200010205), Geyer Ditch (HUC 071200010203), Laskowski Ditch-Kankakee River (HUC 071200010204), Clear Lake Basin (HUC 071200010207], Rogers Ditch-Baugo Creek (HUC 040500012104), Aldrich Ditch (HUC 071200010206), County Line Ditch-Kankakee River (HUC 071200010209), Horace Miller Ditch-Pine Creek (HUC 071200010106), Kartoffel Creek-Potato Creek (HUC 071200010105), Headwaters Potato Creek (HUC 071200010104), Headwaters Stock Ditch (HUC 071200010304), West Bunch Branch-Stock Ditch (HUC 071200010305), Grimes Ditch (HUC 040500012101), Township Ditch-Baugo Creek (HUC 040500012103), Wisler Ditch-Baugo Creek (HUC 040500012102), Kline Rouch Ditch-Yellow River (HUC 071200010302], Lateral Ditcch No 5 (HUC 071200010301), Yellow Bank Creek (HUC 071200010102), Peter Sarber Ditch-Pine Creek (HUC 071200010103), Johnani Ditch-Kankakee River (HUC 071200010405), Amy Kelly Ditch-Robbins Ditch (HUC 071200010702), and County Line Ditch-Kankakee River (HUC 071200010209) watersheds and is submitting a Notice of Intent to notify the Indiana Department of Environmental Management of the MS4's intent to comply with the requirements of the MS4 General Permit to discharge stormwater run-off. Contact the MS4 Coordinator at (574) 235-9626 for questions.